The past two days in class we have been watching Food Inc. It has opened my mind up to the food industry and it showed me what we are really consuming every day! Professor Mangini gave us a list of 17 discussion questions and we were to answer three of them. Here are the ones that I chose to discuss!

1. (3)Whose responsibility do you think it is to inform us about what is in our food? I believe it is the producer’s responsibility because they are the ones creating the food and adding all of the stuff that we are unaware of.

2. (9)Do you think eating healthy should be a right, a responsibility, or a privilege? I think eating healthy should be a right, but also a responsibility. Some people just don’t enjoy healthy foods, but they should still have the choice to do so. The prices of healthy foods are just so high and it makes it really hard for people to afford vegetables and fruits. Like the movie said, its cheaper to buy a bag of chips than it is to buy carrots, and thats just wrong. It shouldn't matter what your family's income is, you should still be able to have the right to a healthy life. There is no reason that processed foods should be healthier than fruits and vegetables that come from the ground. It's not fair for the families who are under privileged.

3. (17)There is a lot of research showing that healthful food makes people feel better, have more energy, and stay well. Do you think if more people knew about this research, they would make different choices? Yes. I had a personal experience with this. I never really liked eating healthy foods when I was in high school. I always chose eating chips or pretzels over fruits and veggies. My mom always told me to start eating better but it wasn’t until after I had gained some weight that I started listening to her. I started weight watchers and I began eating really healthy and suddenly I had way more energy and the fat was melting off of me. I was amazed. I never knew that eating healthy had such an effect on so many parts of your body. My mind felt clearer, my body had more energy, and I had lost weight. I believe if more people were informed like me, they would make better choices.





Leave a Reply.